General information

General information

"Two Nations Cup" is the unique brand that brings Turkey and Greece together in sports competitions. The main aim lies in having the two nations meet on an "important" common ground. It shall provide a distinctive opportunity to promote peace and friendship in the respective countries and focus on the value of sport in bringing people together. It is intended that these tournaments are held each year alternately in Turkey and Greece, and gradually include more and different sports.

The "Two Nations Cup 2011" began with the "Two Nations Cup Basketball 2011", a "strong" basketball tournament at club level with the participation of Turkish top teams Anadolu Efes & Fenerbahçe Ülker, Greek powerhouse Olympiacos and current Euroleague Champion Panathinaikos. Istanbul's Abdi Ipekci Sports Hall was the hosting venue of the games, held on October 1st and 2nd. Anadolu Efes was crowned the first Two Nations Cup Basketball champion, after beating their opponents and remaining undefeated until the end.

The games were broadcasted live on CNN Turk (Turkey) and NOVA (Greece), and were also available online via web streaming at for basketball fans living outside the two countries.

A major highlight of the tournament formed the participation of the youth teams of the four clubs in a parallel tournament. This tournament took place from September 30th to October 1st. It was followed by a Junior All Star Game (October 2nd) with mixed rosters from all four youth teams, on the International Day of Non-Violence, in an attempt to further strengthen the spirit of cooperation between the clubs of the two countries.

The second leg of this year's events, the "Two Nations Cup Rowing 2011", included an amazing rowing race between the 8 coxswain Turkish and Greek National Teams on Istanbul's Golden Horn, on October 23rd - a strong test in the preparation for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London. The crews' racecourse started at the Galata Bridge and ended at the Balat Park, covering a distance of a total 3061m. The Greek 8 crew was crowned champion of the inaugural rowing event.